Skip to content

What Friendship Is About

November 5, 2009
I have been thinking about this post for quite a while. The problem is that I do not want to make it too long, because there is so much I have to say. Let’s start with this picture:

Rine+ich

This is my best friend Rine (on the left) and me on our first day of school. I have known her since the day I was born, literally. She was born a few months earlier, so my birthday is the starting point. I love her to death. Our friendship has not always been close and it is fascinating that she is my best friend in the first place: We went to different kindergarten, different classes in school, she went to Canada, when I was in the USA and we eventually went to university at two totally different places. But still she is my best friend and there was never a time in my life when I thought different about that. I have been asked why I was always so sure of our friendship and the simple explanation is, that I KNOW for sure that I can call her at any time of the day and ask her for a key to her apartment, because I need a place to stay for some time. Always. Can I call. That is it. And there is a lot more to say about her and what makes our bond so special…

In any case, as Rine is currently working in Hamburg I will be visiting her over the weekend. We always cramp our time with things we both like to do, since we hardly ever have a lot of time to spend together. So from tomorrow evening on there will be homemade yumyum-salad, martinis, lots and lots of chatting, a breakfast according to the 5 elements, shopping till we drop (running gear, shoes, Urban Outfitters, Christmas presents for our loved ones and everything that comes along our way), Winter Season Opening Party at the Golf Lounge  (I have not a held a club in years, so this will be fun hitting some balls in high heels – Yay!), then we will be on to some bars and clubs and when the sun rises and the ships with the fresh caught fish will come in we will be at the harbour and waiting for a fresh roll with fresh fish. Eventually falling in our beds sometime Sunday morning… That is the plan. I am so very much looking forward to this weekend. There will be so much to blog about after this.

Hamburg is calling and I am responding with hopping on a train tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

