Skip to content

Impressions From Estonia

February 1, 2010

I am back. It was a busy and freezing, yet lovely trip. To give you an impression here are some pictures:

The town hall in Tartu with the Student Kissing fountain. In the summer there are supposed to be a lot of outdoor cafés on the place around the fountain, but at -30°C there were only a few people rushing by. Maybe I will be able to go back some time when it is warmer.

Me in the cold in front of one of the schools I visited for work.

Frost patterns on a window in Tallinn. There are a lot of double-glazed windows, which they surely need with those temperatures, and therefore you could see quite a few of these amazing “ice flowers”.

Alexander-Nevsky-cathedrale. An orthodox church in the old town in Tallinn. It was build around 1900, when Estonia was part of the Russian Empire.

I have a lot to catch up with at work (my desk was clean when I left and is now covered and covered, so I can hardly find a pen), but I will post a few more pictures later this week. Also, the plan is to finish a DIY-project with Carsten over the weekend. So there are some things coming up…

For now I am sending snowy Monday-greetings around the globe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 4:37 pm

    Really nice photos.

    Specially I liked that one with ice flowers. In my country nowadays it is nearly impossible to see them, because we are using triple-glazed windows.

    And then, what makes those ice flowers? When seeing them, it means that windows release warm. This means that those kind of windows are not economical. And if we are thinking about Global warming, this is bad, because warm is coming out and not staying inside. So these windows need more energy and this has influence to global warming.

    I guess that You know all of this.

    Happy Monday!

    • February 1, 2010 5:04 pm

      Yes, I do know and I agree that it is not good at all, but I simply have to admit that they are very pretty. Yet it is indeed a good thing that you can hardly see them any more.

Leave a Reply

