Skip to content

Food, Where It Comes From And The Whole Industry Behind It

February 12, 2010

Food and its origin seems to be a topic at a lot of blogs lately. The movie “Food Inc.” got the attention of quite a few Americans. I haven’t seen it, but am guessing it is somewhat similar to “We feed the world”, an Austrian documentary from 2005, which focuses on the European market instead of the American – even though there are always links – and traces the origins of the food we eat and views modern industrial production of food in a critical light. The documentary is one of my favourite ones and is the reason why I stopped buying any products from Nestlé. To many of my friends that doesn’t make much sense, but I believe that is my way of speaking up. In “We feed the world” the former CEO of Nestlé, Peter Brabeck-Letmathe, stated that in his opinion it is not a human right to have water to drink. Something that I regard differently. There are more reasons why I stopped buying their products and I am sure I am not the only one out there. I regularly check the Nestlé page  to see, if they bought new brands or formed joint-ventures. Nestlé owns a lot of brands world-wide and therefore produces all kinds of products, but I have lived totally fine for the last 5 years without buying their stuff. I don’t mean to convince somebody for doing the same. Not at all. At the end of the day everybody has to make decisions like that for him- or herself. I am a big fan of Jean Ziegler, who is highly criticized for a variety of reasons. But I read a couple of his books, such as “The Empire of Shame” (2005) and am thankful for the informations he offers in his publications.

With all that being said, I am almost off in my weekend and on my way to buy fresh eggs from our farmer’s market… Eggs are a start and I try to support local farmers, even though it is surely not easy at all.

Happy healthy the-Olympics-are-starting-YAY-weekend everyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 4:35 pm

    Good for you! I, too, know how “inconvenient” it can feel to support local farms, but it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

