Skip to content

Vacation – Bakersfield, Yosemite, Napa

September 23, 2010

I took off north to meet this adorable little man. Baby Jack:

His dad, Corey, went to my high school and church when I was an exchange student ten years ago and his then girlfriend, now wife, Crystal and I, quickly became close friends. We have been in touch ever since I left and since I unfortunately could not be at their wedding I made it a mission to meet their first-born before he could walk. What can I say, he is the sweetest little man on earth. I fell in love instantly. He was such a trooper on our trip and I am constantly telling Carsten about him. I miss him sooo much. After a couple off days at Corey and Crystal’s house, a lot of playing, hanging, enjoying baby-time and after Corey’s parents, Tom and Teresa, arrived we made our way to Yosemite National Park.

I loved it. I am a nature person at heart and I guess it’s pretty clear that Carsten and I love to hike. I hope I can take him back to Yosemite next year. We had an amazing and adventurous time. I had not heard much about Yosemite before, but have to say it is one of the prettiest places I have ever been to.

Isn’t this the cutest little family ever?! I am so thankful that we keep in touch. We live totally different lives, but I love them all with all my heart. Thank you for being my friends.

After a couple of days at Yosemite, we drove to Napa Valley.

The weather was quite bad and I have to admit that I was a little disappointed. It was very commercialized and just not what I had envisioned. We tried some tasty wines and I really enjoyed a Syrah, but being European, I guess my standards for a nice wine region are just different. More hilly, older…

The buildings were pretty, but often just built after European examples and for some reason I could not enjoy that very much.

Crystal, who is not a wine person at all, was the only one from our group purchasing two bottles! Surprisingly, the only thing I ended up purchasing was one of the best chai teas I have ever tasted…

After Napa, we made our way to the coast. And I fell in love. Again.

Note: Apparently, there will be 5 instead of 3 posts on my vacation, as I had originally planned. But due to all the pictures, I wanted to post I decided to split it up…

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. A Tiny Miracle «

Leave a Reply

