Skip to content

Nothing Beats a Good Run

February 8, 2011

The weather has been gorgeous over here lately. It’s getting warmer and warmer and on my runs in the woods you can already smell the spring and feel crunching leaves under your shoes instead of snow and ice. I still have the timing chip from my last race in October last year on my left shoe and it definitely functions as a motivator on tough runs. There is hardly any snow left and the runs feel totally different now. I have set my eyes on a couple of races for this year. Most likely there will be this one on Lake Tahoe during our vacation in September – how can you not want to run a race called “Bay to Bliss” – and a trail 15k in October here in the neighbourhood. In addition I am still looking for a fun (trail) half marathon. We will see. Right now I am running 2-3 times a week and mostly for time/ duration and hardly ever for distance. Here are a few pictures from my one-hour run today.

Have you planned any races for 2011?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 9:02 am

    Nice pics! You are right – it feels a little bit like spring these days! We were running at the weekend too (yes you read right – WE!). Chris and I are preparing for this years Munich City Run (10km) because I won free attendance via facebook – isn’t it cool?! By now I am really not in a good form but I think it will get better and better the more I run. Yesterday I got a puls watch as a present from him – now I am well equipped for the training! :)

    • February 9, 2011 5:43 pm

      Oh, that is great that you can run the race for free! Which pulse watch did you get? Carsten and I both have the Polar RS300X. He has the GPS to go with it and I have the foot pod. Have fun training!

      • February 10, 2011 9:32 am

        I got the Sigma PC 9 – really nice looking an much function :) Can’t wait to try it!

  2. February 12, 2011 9:26 am

    Oh yeah, you are absolutely right! Running is great and after it, it’s a great feeling! But it’s so hard for me, to motivate me to go out and start. How do you do this? There are so many lame excuses in my head, although I know, that I like the feeling after it…

    • February 13, 2011 5:46 pm

      That’s pretty much what I tell myself – I never regretted a run and the feeling afterwards is kind of addicting. ;) Besides, I have to justify all the chocolate eating somehow and I simply need a good workout to stay sane.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) permalink
    February 13, 2011 6:20 am

    I’m happy it finally got a little warmer, so I can take up my walks again. I have planned to start another attempt to get into running at all in 2011. Where are you running there? It looks beautiful!

    • February 13, 2011 5:48 pm

      Walking/ hiking is great! And it is also a great start to get into running. Good luck! I usually run in the forest around where we live. This particular run was in the Jenaer Forst.

      • Kath (My Funny Little Life) permalink
        February 18, 2011 2:38 pm

        It’s beautiful! I live in Heidelberg, and I’m happy to also have beautiful forests around. :)

Leave a Reply

