Skip to content

Introducing GERDA

March 7, 2011

This is Gerda:

For the last 3 months I researched and read a ton about DSLRs. I do not make purchases in this price range just like that. I wished for money for my birthday and eventually, after holding quite a few cameras in our hands, we purchased Gerda on Saturday. The name is an homage to a very good friend of my dad, Gerd. They know each other for more than 30 years and just reconnected this year. I know that made my dad very happy! Gerd has been leading his own photography club for a few decades and even though he is a total professional, he helped me a lot in my decision-making process. Thank you for that! And well since the definite article for camera is female in German (yes, our grammar is strange and difficult) I called my Nikon D3100 Gerda.

Nevertheless, I am still using my point and shoot.

I’ve had my Canon PowerShot A430 for years and she (again, sorry) traveled many many places with me and will for sure continue to do so. Apparently, I took the above picture of Gerda with the Canon. She does take very good pictures, too. She is lacking a name, which sadly has to do with the fact she did not cost nearly as much. But I do appreciate her presence in my life just as much and will for sure continue to take her places.

From now on many of the pictures that you will see on here will be taken with Gerda, but still also with the Canon and every once in a while also with on of our cell phones.

I cannot leave you without a little teaser of what Gerda is capable of doing (with me behind the lens):

This is one of the very first picture I took with Gerda. Amazing, right?

Have a great start in the week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 5:18 pm

    What a wonderful birthday gift! Can’t wait to see what you and Gerda do together :)

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) permalink
    March 8, 2011 1:26 pm

    Gerda is awesome! And she makes fantastic pictures! (I’d also wish to have a camera like Gerda one day, but so far, I’m still using my little Canon pocket cam.) And I *love* that you name your things. I have a grand piano called Friedrich Ferdinand, and my blender is James. Special things deserve names for sure! :D

  3. March 19, 2011 11:05 pm

    What fun! And that picture is a great start!

Trackbacks

  1. Spring, Oh Pretty Pretty Spring «
  2. 01/52 «

Leave a Reply

