Skip to content

Race Schedule

April 28, 2011

While I was on my midday run today, I remembered that I wanted to post my race schedule, which I set a few weeks ago. And while my week off does not only enable me to go running at noon, but also gives me time to blog again here we go. I am so motivated.

First, I would like to say that I decided against road races this year. I did enjoy my half-marathon in Munich last year, but prefer trail races, so that’s what it will be.

1. 12. June 2011 Kirschlauf, 14k through cherry plantations; the profile is quite hard, but Carsten will stay by my side – will make it easier; very close to us and my dad will be there

2. 18. September 2011 Emerald Bay Trail Run “Bay to Bliss”, 12k from Eagle Point to Lester Beach at Lake Tahoe, California; I’ve wanted to do a race in the US for a long time and this is just perfect

3. 6. October 2011 Paarlauf Jena, 30min or 60min; I will do this pair-run with Carsten and you can choose between 30min or 60min; the run takes place on a track (tartan) and you have to run as many laps as possible; have never done anything like it, so that’s a great challenge

4. 15. October 2011 Kernberglauf, 15k run in the mountains around Jena, the city we live in; again Carsten will be with me for this one

And that’s a wrap. As you read Carsten will stay with me for 3 out of my 4 races. He will do 2 triathlons, 2 adventure races and a 100k run/hike, where I will try to support him, that’s why he promised to support me with the runs I chose. And in case you may be wondering, he is aiming for a really good result (possibly win) in California and I will let him do his thing there.

And since I am off for the week, I had more time for cooking. Yesterday there was white asparagus, which just started to be in season, along with fried potatoes seasoned with fresh rosemary. Very tasty:

And today I made Emily & Nick’s broccoli slaw. Carsten and I absolutely love this slaw:

You have to try this. Seriously, hop over to The Culinary Couple and get the recipe and let me know how much you liked it! Believe me, you will want this everyday, just like Carsten and I.

Happy running = happy eating. :)

Do you have any races planned for the year?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 9:54 pm

    Awesome plans! It’s great you even go to California for a race, be sure to stay a little longer an enjoy the country – it’s soooooo beautiful, especially the National parks!

    I haven’t planned any races. I plan to get into running for real (finally), that’s the first step. :)

    Yummy food! I’m enjoying the asparagus season as well. :)

  2. May 2, 2011 9:48 am

    We are planning a 3-weeks stay to visit friends and family. The major part will be spend in California: Lake Tahoe – Sacramento – San Francisco and Montery with lots of exploring in between. I cannot wait. In 4 months from now we will be almost there!

  3. May 2, 2011 2:54 pm

    Wow, what a “mammoth programme”! Sounds like you two are in a really good condition! Like to hear more :-)

  4. May 3, 2011 2:43 am

    You are an ambitious lady! But I know you can do it. Also, glad you enjoyed the broccoli slaw — and now I am craving a big bowl of my own :)

Leave a Reply

