Skip to content

Dresses, Dresses, Dresses…

July 21, 2011

First of all, thank you girls so much for your sweet comments on my last post. I know not many find their way to my itty-bitty place in the big world wide web, which is fine, after all I am keeping this blog for myself. Nevertheless, I did really appreciate your congratulations very very much.

Second of all, NO we are not talking MY wedding dress quite yet. BUT somebody elses. Later. First I do indeed want to talk about one of my dresses. A dress I made. It all started with the fabric and a pattern and ended in 30hours of a sewing class plus a lot of work at home. What I am trying to say is, I made this dress all on my own, put a lot of time, effort and love in it and have been using the few summer days we had to proudly show of my piece of couture.

I have to say that I do appreciate clothes a lot more after making a piece from scratch. I now pay attention to stitching and seams and piping, which by the way I did not even know what it was before I took the class. Overall, I learned a lot of techniques that I can now also use on a lot of other projects. So the sewing machine, my dad got me for my birthday last year, is in use very often.

Now, the wedding dress. Well, my little (host) sister Carol got engaged in May and had originally planned to get married in March 2012. But, you guessed it, they decided to move the date. Way up to September. Luckily, it is now on the weekend Carsten and I were planning to spend with her and her fiancé Sean anyways. It did cause a little more planning and coordinating for us since our flights were already booked and could not be changed anymore, but we will make it work and I am very happy about this! That way I get to show Carsten the place I lived at in 2000/01 and my high school and we will attend the wedding of my little sister, who I love very very much. Now since time is flying – with only 51 days left, she is trying to take care of everything and she and her mom are going to look at wedding dresses tomorrow! I wish I could be there, but I am sure she will choose something breathtaking. She did however already pick her bridesmaids dresses and since I have the great honor to be one of those ladies on Carol’s wedding day the dress she chose for me to wear is currently in the hands of the postal service making its way across the big pond. Carol only told me the color  she chose, but not the style, so I will be happily waiting for the post man every day next week, when it is expected to arrive so I can get it altered.

You see dresses kind of play a big role right now. I am a somewhat girly girl, so I surely do not mind at all!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 11:43 pm

    That dress is super chic and summery and I adore it! You know how I am about yellow :)

    What an accomplishment!

  2. July 31, 2011 7:35 am

    A wonderful dress! I like the color! Really nice!
    I should also take some sewing class… ;-)

  3. August 2, 2011 11:34 am

    Wow – I can’t believe you made this! :D

    I’m looking forward to seeing more dresses on your blog, that’s so romantic! :)

Leave a Reply

